AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
Public lands map layer. Know your land.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
Thousands more points. Even laundromats!

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
Fulltimers need the latest. Daily updates.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
25% more points. Any screen.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
See hiking trails right on the map.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
More parking, more options, more boondocking.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
More pulloffs for the adventurous.

Kim Switzer

Lorraine is wonderful. She maintains the campsite very well and does not tolerate noisy campers. I really appreciated her diligence and backbone when enforcing camp rules.

Posted Sep 28, 2019 by Kim Switzer from Alberta. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Greg

Stayed there July 8. Very nice and quiet. Unlike other comments I found Lorraine to be very friendly and helpful. Regarding the comment of someone wanting to stay an extra night but was kicked out of the site that would be because it had been reserved so I understand why they were asked to leave. Outhouses were very clean and freshly painted. This was not a random camping campground as there are designated spots so again, if you are not in a spot I understand why you would be asked to be moved. With respect to a second vehicle on the site the BC Parks website clearly states that second vehicles will be charged. Instead of it being a free-for-all Lorraine is enforcing the guidelines. If you don't like it then as Trump says go back to where you came from.

Posted Jul 21, 2019 by Greg from Calgary. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

John Tims

I have been going to Loon Lake for 12 years it is a beautiful place and one of the rare places where ATV’s and Dirt Bikes are welcome at the campground with access to the trails. We used to love coming here and would pay to stay at the camp ground if we could find a spot. If not we would stay in the forestry and quad to this lake to enjoy the beach. This past weekend we had yet another run in with the famous camp host here. She is rude and unpleasant to anyone with an atv or dirt bike. She tends to make up rules that suit her needs even though all the rules are posted on signs everywhere. When you question where these rules come from she tells you that “no one reads the signs anyway so we don’t post the rules anymore” although the signs were obviously very new. We were told that we were not allowed to use the day use area because we were on quads. Even if we parked elsewhere, we were told the only place we were allowed to use the water was in the boat launch. Although the signs clearly state we are permitted on the gravel roads as long as we keep a speed of 10km/hr or less and have our helmets on. Anyway we left and went elsewhere but it is clear why this place used to be packed and now you can get a site anytime you want. Why is a lady that hates atv’s and dirt bikes so much working at an atv/dirt bike friendly camp ground. I feel like this lady goes looking for a fight with anyone she can just to feel in power. My kids call her the “mean lady” Please mover her to another location so we can all enjoy this place again.

Posted Jun 02, 2019 by John Tims from Calgary. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Brenda

I have been camping at Loon Lake for years now. When I first went, the campground was always full of local people from Fernie and Sparwood who knew the hosts. People from Alberta were turned away and not liked by the hosts and clicks from BC. It was difficult to get a campsite because so many were reserved for BC clicks. Huge parties carried on all night between the local campers in their clicks and there was few rules for people from BC. When Lorraine became host, the campground adhered strictly to the rules that had been set out. A lot of people took offence to the rules and could not continue to have their huge parties of clicks from BC. They would destroy the bathrooms smearing poop and whatever else they could do and take pictures to make Lorraine look bad. A lot of the BC clicks left for other campgrounds until Lorraine is not host anymore. Lorraine follows rules so if you don’t want a controlled campground, don’t camp here. I find the campground very relaxing/ fun and the campers are very friendly now. I can usually find a campsite easily now because they are not all taken by people from BC setting up a tent or chairs to save them for their clicks. The water is quite warm and you can camp right on the shore. Lorraine is very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are clean and Lorraine tries her best to control the odors. Lorraine has even helped me when my vehicle broke down. She has offered information for sightseeing and activities like farmers markets in the area. The turtles and crayfish are something wonderful to see. Very nice campground and very well taken care of.

Posted Aug 14, 2018 by Brenda from Calgary, Alberta. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Ruffway

We have been coming to loon Lake Campground for 25 years
We always come down in the large group from Calgary the past two years we have not been camping at Loonlake we opt to camp in the forest and come to the lake during the day the camp host Lorraine is an absolute rude bullish nasty camp operator my children are afraid of her until she is gone our group will never camp at Loonlake

Posted Aug 22, 2017 by Ruffway from Calgary. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Camper from Sparwood

I have been camping at Loon Lake for over 30 years, my children grew up going to loon lake but the last 6 years have been the worst yet, the camp host is horrible, I camped there for a week in July 2016, the bathrooms just got swepted, not once in the whole week did she clean the poop smeared walls, I so was discusted i used the washroom in my camper the rest of my stay........Now it is August and I come for another vacation, and go into the same bathroom.............YUP the poop smears are still there!!!!(good thing for iphone that put the date on the pictures...I still have them as proof) Really I don't know why Lorainne is still camp host!! I also over heard her yelling at a set of campers........later on when Lorainne left I went and asked the campers what the commotion was about and they informed me that Lorianne wanted to charge them for a commuter vehicle that her husband used to come from work.
Also when could you actually reserve a spot at loon lake, I always thought it was first come first serve??????? reserved signs on the picnic tables or Loriannes grey truck parked in camp spots to save for people.......seems very fishy to me.........common Forestry get her gone

Posted Aug 30, 2016 by Camper from Sparwood from Sparwood. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

local camper

Where to begin.... We are local to the valley and my family and friends have been camping at loon all our lives. It's a beautiful lake and until a few years ago it was our favorite place to go on the weekends. The camp attendant Lorraine has made it beyond unbearable to revisit. She is unprovacably rude and just a nasty person. After two years of torment ( repeatedly asking people to move their trucks and campers on the daily) changing her mind on where it is OK to park one day to the next. From allowing strangers to enter other people's tents at night, including children's tents. Screaming at campers in front of children and visitors. Refusing to accept payment from people who have decided to stay another night all because she feels like placing someone else in your campsite. I argued that she wasn't allowed to remove us solely on the fact that someone else wanted the site, she called the police on me and they sent out an officer. She told said officer that she was assaulted to get him to come out. Falsely accusing someone of a crime. Thankfully the campground was full of witnesses who coo berated my story and the officer scolded Lorraine and left. There is so much more. This is only a fraction of our story. There are many more from many other people. I hope someone does the right thing and has this woman removed. Until then my friends and family who have provided twenty years of repeat local respectable business will not be returning. Such a shame.

Posted Aug 11, 2016 by local camper from fernie. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Page:

12



Submit your review

(Maximum characters: 7500)
You have 7500 characters left.
* Required Field

Not readable? Change text.