AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
Public lands map layer. Know your land.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
Thousands more points. Even laundromats!

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
Fulltimers need the latest. Daily updates.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
25% more points. Any screen.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
See hiking trails right on the map.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
More parking, more options, more boondocking.

AllStays Pro: For PC/Mac & GPS
More pulloffs for the adventurous.

Starr

The campsites have woods around them. That’s the best I can say about the whole place. Our site, although with nice trees around it was not very level. There was no WiFi and no cable, but was the most expensive campground on our seven week trip at $59 a night. The clothes washers are so small, it takes two to do a normal size load (which, of course means more money for the owner). We had to go out and didn’t get back until after dark. We almost missed the campground as there was no light on the sign, nor anywhere in the entire campground. The owner has the campground for one reason - to make money any way he can. He appears to be the only one at the place, which I assume means he doesn’t want to pay anyone, so a lot of things aren’t done, no maintenance, and if you need something good luck on finding him. Try somewhere else if you can.

Posted Nov 01, 2019 by Starr from Tennessee. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Miriam

Sorry this place needs a complete overhaul. The bathrooms were terrible, no WiFi as advertised. It was the only campground available.

Posted Aug 07, 2019 by Miriam from Tucson AZ. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Mary anne

Very mixed. I totally understand the negative reviews but I liked the place. Very eccentric. Lots of quirky things to look at. We had full hook up so I never even went into the bathrooms. The owner has built all the buildings himself, hewn the lumber, hoisted the timber for ceiling and bills the lumber himself on site. Lots of interesting carvings. It is clearly a work of love for the owner but a lot has slipped; sites need new gravel; tent sites seemed very nicely wooded; RV sites less so. Surrounding woods have beautiful trails for hiking, biking, running. WiFi very spotty; we never tried for cable. I would stay again, short drive into Marquette; my husband would never go back; it was overpriced.

Posted Jul 30, 2018 by Mary anne from FL. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Adam

We got a tent spot on 8/12-8/13 2017. We stayed here despite a $40/night fee only because everywhere else was full.

Pro's: very wooded tenting spots across the road from a beach on Lake Superior.

Cons: the bathrooms are disgusting, showers are almost unusable. Both men's and women's bathrooms had no soap both days that we were there. No wifi as advertised. The roads to the tent area were wet sand and mud, barely passable if you don't have 4WD. $40 for a night would've been acceptable if it had all of the amenities that were advertised with decent bathroom facilities.

This could be a really great campground if it was maintained. Until this happens, I would stay elsewhere.

Posted Aug 15, 2017 by Adam from IA. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Dean

To the remarks already made, I'd add that this is the most expensive night we have experienced, ever. It is close to the beautiful Lake Superior and sunset was very nice.

Posted Jul 27, 2017 by Dean from Michigan. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Philip

Don't go here. I was going to stay here but a friend who had been there told me that the bath facilities were not well maintained, if at all and that there were potential safety hazards. Fortunately, I ran into another person where I camped instead and she had been at Gitchee Gumee and left. She stated that the Board of Health showed while she was there and told her that it was one of many inspections due to repeated complaints. Ant the owner had screamed at her when she complained about the cleanliness of the facilities. While I don't have personal experience, what I have heard is enough to raise a huge red flag and other potential "victims" should be aware of the conditions if they are considering staying at Gitchee Gumee.

Posted Jul 25, 2017 by Philip from Florida. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Onthrvr

Never have I seen such a dump of a campground. The bathrooms were moldy and DARK. Light bulbs burned out. No cable no wifi and no manager. This owner Jeff does it all himself and it shows. Dirt or mud for roads and just overall filthy.

Posted Jul 25, 2017 by Onthrvr from Asheville. This is the subjective opinion of a traveler and not of AllStays LLC.

Page:

123



Submit your review

(Maximum characters: 7500)
You have 7500 characters left.
* Required Field

Not readable? Change text.